Les Adolescents et Les Jeunes

//Les Adolescents et Les Jeunes
Les Adolescents et Les Jeunes2018-10-05T12:36:52+00:00

Jeunes à Risque – Information Pour Les Jeunes
De la part de Centre for Suicide Prevention:  (en anglais) Centre de prévention du suicide
Téléchargez une copie gratuite Youth at Risk – Youth Information: (en anglais) Jeunes à risque – Information pour les jeunes

Si vous vous sentez suicidair
Si vous vous sentez suicidaire, dites à quelqu’un comment vous vous sentez et demandez de l’aide. Appelez un centre de crise ou parlez à un adulte, tel qu’un parent, un enseignant ou un conseiller scolaire.

Obtenir de l’aide immédiatement
Si vous vous sentez suicidaire, dites à quelqu’un tout de suite. Communiquez avec une ligne de crise ou parlez à un adulte, tel qu’un parent, un enseignant ou un conseiller scolaire. Il se peut que vous ne le sentez pas maintenant, mais les choses peuvent changer. Et changent. Demander de l’aide ouvre la porte au changement.

Stigmate
Pour beaucoup de jeunes, la pensée d’être différent de leurs amis ou groupe social peut être effrayant. L’importance de s’installer est l’une des principales raisons pour lesquelles une personne ne cherche pas d’aide pour les problèmes. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les questions concernant la santé mentale et émotionnelle qui peuvent porter un fardeau de stigmatisation et de honte.

Qu’est-ce que la stigmatisation?

Stigma est un stéréotype négatif que vous pouvez détenir sur quelqu’un, quelque chose ou même vous-même. Nous discriminons et étiquetons ceux que nous considérons avoir des caractéristiques qui sont indésirables. Ce faisant, nous établissons un sentiment de séparation entre «nous» et «eux». En fin de compte, la stigmatisation est sur le manque de respect.

Quel effet cela a-t-il sur la personne stigmatisée?

Lorsque nous tenons des attitudes négatives à l’égard de quelqu’un, il en résulte fréquemment que la personne se sent rejetée, marginalisée et moins que humaine. Pauvre estime de soi peut suivre, ainsi que d’une perte d’espoir et même des pensées de suicide. En raison de la stigmatisation et de la peur d’être rejetée, la personne ne peut pas chercher activement de l’aide quand elle en a besoin.

Que pouvez-vous faire?

Examinez d’abord votre propre attitude.
Demandez-vous: Est-ce que je stéréotype les personnes qui sont différentes? Est-ce que je les traite avec le manque de respect? Nous avons tous la capacité de discriminer les autres. Même les enfants aussi jeunes que trois ans peuvent reconnaître quand quelqu’un est différent. En stigmatisant, nous pouvons ressentir un sentiment de séparation et de soulagement que «je suis normal».

La bonne nouvelle est que cela peut changer …

D’où vient mon attitude?
Bon nombre des images et des opinions que nous tenons sur les personnes qui ont une maladie mentale ou qui peuvent être suicidaires ont une longue histoire. Ces croyances sont renforcées par les médias qui représentent souvent les personnes souffrant de maladie mentale comme imprévisibles et agressives ou dangereuses et violentes.

Comment puis-je changer les choses?
Informez-vous! La meilleure façon de contrer la stigmatisation de la maladie mentale et le comportement suicidaire est d’obtenir les faits. La maladie mentale peut se développer après un événement traumatique ou elle peut être liée à la composition génétique d’une personne.

Soyez compatissant et compréhensif. Lorsque vous rencontrez un ami, un camarade de classe, un coéquipier ou même un étranger qui peut avoir différentes façons de faire les choses ou une façon différente d’être, les traiter comme vous voudriez être traité. Nous avons tous des moments où nous nous sentons bas, en colère, accablé, ou incapable de faire face.

Continue Reading – Téléchargez gratuitement :Youth at Risk – Youth Information (en anglais) Jeunes à risque – Information pour les jeunes
Centre for Suicide Prevention: (en anglais) Centre de prévention du suicide

Ressources Additionnelles:

Sites de Santé Mentale Pour Les Jeunes

Les formations en prévention du suicide: L’Association québécoise de prévention du suicide (AQPS) développe et déploie des formations en prévention du suicide en tenant compte des bonnes pratiques en intervention et des stratégies pédagogiques réputées efficaces dans le transfert des apprentissages

La prévention du suicide chez les adolescents : deux nouveaux ateliers pour intervenir plus efficacement auprès des jeunes à risque suicidaire.

Centre de prévention du suicide: le Centre de Prévention du Suicide s’efforce de glisser des grains de sable dans la mécanique suicidaire. Parce qu’un suicide survient rarement de manière brutale, imprévisible, mais est le plus souvent l’aboutissement d’un processus long et complexe au cours duquel l’individu essaie, en vain, de trouver aide et solutions.

L’intimidation et l’intimidation cybernétique: Bill Belsey, enseignant de Cochrane, en Alberta, est probablement la première personne à avoir utilisé le terme anglais «cyberbullying» (intimidation cybernétique). D’après sa définition du terme, l’intimidation cybernétique implique l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et de la communication (courriel, téléphone cellulaire, messagerie texte, sites web personnels et sites web de votes) pour soutenir des comportements délibérés, répétés et hostiles d’une personne ou d’un groupe dans le but de causer du tort aux autres.

Ressources Additionnelles en anglais:

The Honouring Life Network: Le Réseau Honneur de la vie
Le Réseau Honneur de la vie est un projet de l’Organisation nationale de la santé autochtone. Le site Web offre des renseignements et des ressources culturellement pertinents sur la prévention du suicide pour aider les jeunes Autochtones et les jeunes travailleurs à résoudre un problème qui a atteint des proportions de crise dans certaines collectivités des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis au Canada.

Teen Mental Health: Santé mentale chez les adolescents
Quels sont les troubles mentaux ? Qu’est-ce que la lésion cérébrale? C’est quoi le Stigma? Nous avons besoin de savoir autant sur nos esprits que nous connaisons sur nos corps. Regardez également les vidéos sur notre chaîne YouTube.

Open Mind: Esprit ouvert
OpenMindBC.ca constitue une ressource précieuse pour les médecins, les parents, les enseignants et les jeunes afin d’en apprendre davantage sur les services de soutien disponibles en Colombie-Britannique et partout au Canada.

Unleash the Noise: Libérez le bruit
Unleash the Noise (
Libérez le bruit) appelle les jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans dans les établissements d’enseignement secondaire et post secondaire de tout le Canada, qui sont vraiment intéressés et passionnés par l’évolution du paysage de la santé mentale.

Mind Check: Vérification de l’esprit
Ce site Web de
Mind Check a été créé afin d’aider les jeunes à identifier et à comprendre la détresse mentale qu’ils peuvent rencontrer et à les relier à des sources d’aide qui leur permettront d’acquérir des compétences et des stratégies pour gérer ces problèmes.

YouthSpace: Espace Jeunesse
Youthspace.ca est formé d’une communauté de bénévoles qui sont là pour vous aider, peu importe ce que vous traversez.

Mind Your Mind: Occupez votre esprit
Mind Your Mind est un site primé pour les jeunes par les jeunes. C’est un endroit où vous pouvez obtenir des informations, des ressources et des outils, qui peuvent vous aider à gérer le stress, la crise et les problèmes de santé mentale.

The Jack Project: Le Projet Jack
Le projet Jack fournit des renseignements sur la santé mentale dont il a grandement besoin, et aide les jeunes à passer de la fin de l’école secondaire à l’université ou à la vie autonome. Nous fournissons également aux adultes intéressés – les parents, les membres de la famille et les éducateurs – les connaissances dont ils ont besoin pour soutenir la santé mentale des jeunes dans leur vie. Leur vision est «No More Silence» (c’est fini le silence).

Teen Suicide: Suicide d’adolescent

Information sur la façon de prévenir le suicide chez les adolescents

Reason to Live: Raison de vivre
La Ligne de soutien et de soutien en matière de suicide au Manitoba est une ligne de secours 24 heures sur 24, confidentielle, gérée par des conseillers en situation de crise de Klinic Community Health.

Teen Depression: Dépression adolescente
Information sur la dépression chez les adolescents, problèmes et autres problèmes

The Balanced Mind: L’esprit équilibré
La Fondation Balanced Mind aide les familles à élever des enfants souffrant de troubles de l’humeur aux réponses, au soutien et à la stabilité qu’ils recherchent.

The Anna Freud Centre: Le Centre Anna Freud
Nous sommes les pionniers d’interventions novatrices et nous offrons des traitements spécialisés aux enfants et aux jeunes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.

The Yellow Ribbon Campaign: La campagne du ruban jaune (Yellow Ribbon Suicide Prevention Program®)
Yellow Ribbon Suicide Prevention Program® est dédié à la prévention du suicide et aux tentatives de prévention du suicide accessible à tous et à l’élimination des obstacles à l’aide.

Teen Suicide: Suicide chez l’adolescent
Se concentrer sur la prévention du suicide chez les adolescentes et le traitement

Kids Health: Santé des Enfants
Sections parents, adolescents et enfants

Maine Teen Suicide Prevention: Maine Prévention du suicide chez les adolescentes
Ce site s’adresse directement aux adolescents. Il a des informations sur la prévention du suicide et des sujets connexes, comment obtenir de l’aide pour vous-même et les autres, des histoires d’adolescents sur leurs expériences et un quiz d’information sur le suicide.

Society for the Prevention of Teen Suicide: Société pour la prévention du suicide chez les adolescents
Ce site a une section adolescent où vous pouvez trouver des informations pour vous aider ou aider un ami qui peut avoir des pensées suicidaires. Vous pouvez également trouver des informations sur la façon de faire face si un ami meurt par suicide.

Trevor Project: Projet Trevor
Le projet Trevor offre des services d’intervention en cas de crise et de prévention du suicide à des jeunes de 13 à 24 ans pour les lesbiennes, les gais, les bisexuels, les transsexuels et les interrogateurs (LGBTQ). Son site Web contient des informations sur les signes de suicide et une façon de se connecter en ligne avec d’autres jeunes LGBTQ. La ligne d’assistance téléphonique Trevor est une ligne téléphonique sans frais 24 heures sur 24 au 1-866-488-7386. TrevorChat est pour le chat (discution) de crise en ligne 6 heures par jour à
www.thetrevorproject.org/chat. Trevor Texte est pour envoyer des messages le vendredi en fin d’après-midi au début de soirée. Texte “Trevor” au 202-304-1200.

Youth Suicide Prevention Program: Programme de prévention du suicide chez les jeunes
Ce site est plein d’informations pour les adolescents sur le suicide et la prévention du suicide, la dépression, comment aider, et où obtenir de l’aide, ainsi que des informations pour les jeunes LGBTQ, y compris une vidéo. Il a également des informations sur la façon de parler à un ami ou un adulte sur le suicide et des matériaux pour les adolescents et les adultes qui veulent fournir de l’éducation sur la prévention du suicide ou de démarrer un programme de prévention du suicide.

 

La Dépendance

Signs of Addiction: Signes d’intoxication

Reconnaître les signes de l”intoxication est la première étape pour obtenir de l’aide pour vous-même ou de guider quelqu’un que vous vous souciez à la réadaptation. Pour cette raison, il est essentiel d’avoir une compréhension des signes de la toxicomanie. Il ya des signes comportementaux, physiques et psychologiques de l’intoxication. Advanced Recovery Systems est une approche avancée des soins aux patients.

DrugRehab.com
La ressource Web fournit de l’information et du soutien aux adolescents qui luttent contre la toxicomanie et l’abus de substance. La toxicomanie n’est pas un choix, et les personnes qui en souffrent, ont besoin d’aide pour se remettre. La maladie est causée par une variété de facteurs et conduit à des conséquences négatives à long terme qui pourraient être mortelles. Un traitement efficace de la toxicomanie et des dépendances comportementales existe pour aider les toxicomanes à se rétablir. La mission de DrugRehab.com est d’équiper les patients et les familles de la meilleure information, des ressources et des outils pour surmonter l’intoxication et mener une récupération à vie. Les drogues et l’alcool ont un effet plus important sur les adolescents que sur les adultes. Les signes de la toxicomanie peuvent être difficiles à comprendre, Et de nombreux adolescents ne réalisent pas les dommages des drogues sur leurs corps à long terme, parce que les effets secondaires à court terme se fanent. L’aide est disponible pour les adolescents qui ont des questions sur l’abus de drogues, le traitement ou pensent qu’ils souffrent de la toxicomanie.

Drug Rehab.com pour les troubles concomitants
La ressource Web fournit de l’information et du soutien aux adolescents qui luttent contre les troubles cooccurrents. Les personnes atteintes de troubles concomitants ont à la fois un trouble de santé mentale et un trouble lié à l’usage de substances. Il est également appelé diagnostic double. Il est nécessaire d’avoir un plan de traitement intégré qui cible les deux maladies à la fois. La maladie mentale peut être classifiée comme quelque chose de cas mineurs de dépression à des déficiences graves telles que la schizophrénie et le SSPT. La toxicomanie et la maladie mentale vont de pair. La co-morbidité, l’apparition simultanée de deux troubles ou maladies chez une personne, est fréquente chez les personnes ayant des problèmes de toxicomanie et peut affecter le cours et le pronostic des troubles.

L’intimidation et L’Intimidation Cybernétique

Cyber-intimidation: le guide complet
Lorsque la ligne entre la normale, même acceptable, les taquineries ludiques croise dans l’intimidation, des problèmes se posent.

Jeunesse, J’écoute (Kids HelpPhone)
Harcèlement. Choisissez de faire une différence. Se lever. Approchez-vous. Dites à quelqu’un ou dites à Jeunesse, J’écoute.

Agis! Comment faire une différence Lorsque vous prenez l’intimidation en ligne. Le programme en ligne est conçu pour aider les élèves à savoir comment intervenir lorsqu’ils sont témoins d’intimidation cyber afin que vous puissiez faire une différence positive.

AidezMoiSVP.ca
Si vous (ou un ami, un pair ou un frère ou une sœur) avez participé à un incident d’exploitation par vous-même ou par un pair (autrement dit «sextage»), nous sommes là pour vous aider. Ce site vous fournit des conseils sur les étapes que vous pouvez prendre pour l’en sortir.

Ça commence par les jeunes
Exploité par la Section de l’engagement des jeunes de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Partie de la Direction nationale des services à la jeunesse du Service de prévention du crime de la GRC. Faits sur ce qu’est l’intimidation, Pourquoi les personnes intimident. Et qui sont leur ciblent. Aussi comment les parents peuvent traiter leurs enfants, s’ils sont intimidés ou s’ils sont eux qui font l’intimidation.

Bullying.org
L’objectif de Bullying.org est de prévenir l’intimidation dans notre société par l’éducation et la sensibilisation. Nous fournissons des programmes et des ressources éducatives aux particuliers, aux familles, aux établissements d’enseignement et aux organisations.

Le projet Chaperon rouge (Red Hood)
Le projet Red Hood appelle l’industrie des médias sociaux à contrôler et à protéger la vie privée des enfants en ligne.

Voici quelques conseils rapides pour les adolescents:

Évitez les ragots. Tout le monde est etroitement lié, et se laisse un peu emporter par ces scandales lycéiens tellement dramatique, mais cela ne signifie pas que vous devez envoyer des textos de la dernière rumeur à tout le monde que vous connaissez.
Protégez votre espace. Utilisez les paramètres de confidentialité et n’acceptez pas n’importe qui comme un ami. Faire des enquêtes – qui sont-ils? Pourquoi voulez-vous sortir avec eux?

Téléchargez ce guide gratuit de UKnowKids.com (guide de la demande dans la barre de navigation à droite) pour obtenir la liste complète des …

  • Comment prévenir et éviter l’intimidation cybernétique
  • Conseils pour vous, adolescents, pour éviter de partager trop de renseignements personnels
  • Conseils pour identifier et traiter les prédateurs en ligne

Rappelez-vous normal est un état qui n’existe pas vraiment. Nous sommes tous humains – intéressants, imparfaits, talentueux … .. différents. La chose à retenir est quand les différents moyens mentales ne sont pas en forme, l’aide est disponible. Le soutien de la famille, des amis, des coéquipiers, des enseignants et des étrangers est crucial.

Teens and Youth

Home/Resources Gallery/Teens and Youth
Teens and Youth 2017-05-31T09:26:26+00:00

Youth at Risk –  Information for Youth

By Centre for Suicide Prevention
Download a Free Copy Youth at Risk – Youth Information

If you are feeling suicidal

If you are feeling suicidal, tell someone how you are feeling and ask for help. Call a crisis centre or talk to an adult, such as a parent, teacher or school counsellor.

Get help right away

If you are feeling suicidal, tell someone right away. Contact a crisis line or talk to an adult, such as a parent, teacher or school counsellor. It may not seem like it now, but things can and do change. Asking for help opens the door to change.

Stigma

For many young people the thought of being different from their friends or social group can be frightening. The importance of fitting in is one of the main reasons a person does not seek help for problems. This is particularly true for issues concerning mental and emotional health which can carry a burden of stigma and shame.

What is stigma?

Stigma is a negative stereotype you may hold about someone, something or even yourself. We discriminate against and label those we see as having characteristics that are undesirable. In doing this we establish a sense of separation between “us” and “them.” Ultimately stigma is about disrespect.

What effect does this have on the person(s) being stigmatized?

When we hold negative attitudes toward someone it frequently results in the person feeling dismissed, marginalized and less than human. Poor self esteem can follow, as well as a loss of hope and even thoughts of suicide. Because of stigma and a fear of being rejected the person may not actively seek help when they need it.

What can you do?

First examine your own attitude.

Ask yourself – Do I stereotype people who are different? Do I treat them with disrespect? We all have the capacity to discriminate against others. Even children as young as three can recognize when someone is different. By stigmatizing we can feel a sense of separation and relief that “I am normal’. The good news is this can change…

Where did my attitude come from?

Many of the images and views we hold about people who have mental illness or who may be suicidal have a long history. These beliefs are reinforced by the media who often portray people with mental illness as unpredictable and aggressive or dangerous and violent.

How can I change things?

Get informed! The best way to counteract the stigma of mental illness and suicidal behaviour is to get the facts. Mental illness can develop after a traumatic event or it may be linked to the genetic makeup of a person.

Be compassionate and understanding. When you encounter a friend, classmate, teammate or even a stranger who may have different ways of doing things or a different way of being, treat them how you would want to be treated. We all have times when we feel down, angry, overwhelmed, or unable to cope.

Continue Reading – Download Free: Youth at Risk – Youth Information
By Centre for Suicide Prevention

Additional Resources

Youth Mental Health Sites

The Honouring Life Network
Your source for Aboriginal youth suicide prevention resources. The Honouring Life Network is a project of the National Aboriginal Health Organization. The Web site offers culturally relevant information and resources on suicide prevention to help Aboriginal youth and youth workers dealing with a problem that has reached crisis proportions in some First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities in Canada.

Teen Mental Health
What are Mental Disorders? What is Brain Injury? What is Stigma? We need to know as much about our minds as we do our bodies. Have a look at the videos on our YouTube channel as well.

Open Mind
OpenMindBC.ca presents a valuable resource for physicians, parents, teachers, and youth to learn more about the support services that are available in British Columbia and across Canada.

Unleash the Noise
Unleash the Noise calls on young people ages 15-24 in high school and post secondary institutions from across Canada who are truly interested and passionate about changing the landscape of mental health.

Mind Check
This Mind Check website was created in order to assist young people to identify and understand mental distress they may be experiencing and to link them to sources of help that will enable them to learn skills and strategies to manage these problems.

YouthSpace
Youthspace.ca is made up of a community of volunteers who are here to support you – whatever you are going through.

The BLUEWAVE
The Bluewave website has been created as a media/portal where youth and parents can learn about the challenges surrounding mental health issues. The underlying message is that we all feel “Blue” from time to time, and that it is: OK2B BLUE

Mind Your Mind
Mind Your Mind is an award winning site for youth by youth. This is a place where you can get info, resources and the tools to help you manage stress, crisis & mental health problems.

The Jack Project
The Jack Project provides much needed mental health information and support to young people s they move from late high school into college, university or independent living. We also equip interested adults – the parents, family members and educators – with the knowledge they need to support the mental health of the young people in their lives. Their vision is “No More Silence.”

Teen Suicide
Teen Suicide .us is presented for adults and teens. We offer articles, facts, and information on teenage suicide prevention, adolescent suicide statistics/rates, and related issues.

Reason to Live
The Manitoba Suicide Prevention and Support Line is a toll-free, confidential 24-hour crisis line run by trained crisis counsellors from Klinic Community Health.

Teen Depression
Statistics, Prevention, Facts on Teenage Depression

Youth in BC
YouthInBC.com is a program of the Crisis Centre. It Connects youth with support, information and resources.

The Balanced Mind
The Balanced Mind Foundation guides families raising children with mood disorders to the answers, support and stability they seek.

The Anna Freud Centre
We pioneer innovative interventions and provide specialist treatment for children and young people with mental health problems.

The Yellow Ribbon Campaign
Yellow Ribbon Suicide Prevention Program® is dedicated to preventing suicide and attempts by making suicide prevention accessible to everyone and removing barriers to help.

Kids Health
KidsHealth is more than just the facts about health. As part of The Nemours Foundation’s Center for Children’s Health Media, KidsHealth also provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens.

Maine Teen Suicide Prevention
This website speaks directly to teens. It has information about suicide prevention and related topics, how to get help for yourself and others, stories by teens about their experiences, and a quiz on information about suicide.

ReachOut.com
This website provides information and support for teens and young adults struggling with mental health issues, including suicide. All the material is written by teens and young adults. There are fact sheets about depression and suicide, stories about dealing with suicide issues, information on how to get help for yourself and how to help a friend, and the ReachOut blog. You can also join a forum to connect with your peers for immediate support and information or use the text service ReachOut TXT to get help from trained volunteers.

Society for the Prevention of Teen Suicide
This website has a teen section where you can find information to help yourself or a friend who may be having suicidal thoughts. You can also find information on how to cope if a friend dies by suicide.

Trevor Project
The Trevor Project provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth ages 13–24. Its website has information about the signs of suicide and a way to connect online with other LGBTQ youth. The Trevor Helpline is a 24-hour toll-free suicide hotline at 1-866-488-7386. TrevorChat is for online crisis chat 6 hours a day at www.thetrevorproject.org/chat. Trevor Text is for texting on Fridays late afternoon to early evening. Text “Trevor” to 202-304-1200.

Youth Suicide Prevention Program
This website is full of information for teens about suicide and suicide prevention, depression, how to help, and where to get help, as well as information for LGBTQ youth, including a video. It also has information on how to talk to a friend or an adult about suicide and materials for teens and adults who want to provide education about suicide prevention or start a suicide prevention program.

Addiction

Signs of Addiction
Recognizing the signs of addiction is the first step to getting help for yourself or guiding someone you care about to rehab. For this reason, it is critical to have an understanding of the signs of addiction. There are behavioral, physical, and psychological signs of addiction.  Advanced Recovery Systems is an advanced approach to patient care.

Alcohol and Suicide
When things get tough, when it’s hard to cope, when feeling becomes too much – places where we all have been – the need to make it through becomes eminent. As this is something we all can relate to in one way or another, it should be easy to understand why you or someone you love has turned to alcohol to soothe or numb the pain. After all, it’s a quick and readily available solution, right? Well, quick and readily available – yes. A solution – no.

Rehab Center
Addiction can strike anyone, and when it does, you feel every part of your life is spinning out of control. Your friends won’t call you, your finances are a mess, and your job feels like a nightmare. When all that matters is your next high, you’ve stopped living. Where can you turn to for help? A drug or alcohol problem is not a death sentence—you can get your life back and be the person you were meant to be. The benefits of recovery include a renewed outlook, a wiser disposition, and a more energetic and ambitious you. You don’t have to fight addiction alone. RehabCenter.net is the Web’s most comprehensive guide to quality rehab centers and addiction treatment. We offer free and confidential information about the many effective and empowering rehab options available today.

DrugRehab.com
The web resource provides information and support to teens fighting addiction and substance abuse. Addiction isn’t a choice, and people suffering from it need help to recover. The disease is caused by a variety of factors and leads to long-term negative consequences that could be deadly. Effective treatment for drug addiction and behavioral addictions exists to help addicts recover. DrugRehab.com’s mission is to equip patients and families with the best information, resources and tools to overcome addiction and lead a lifelong recovery. Drugs and alcohol have a greater effect on teens than on adults. The Signs of Addiction can be difficult to understand, and many teens don’t realize the long-term damage drugs have on their bodies because the short-term side effects fade. Help is available for teens who have questions about drug abuse, treatment or think they are suffering from addiction.

Drug Rehab.com for Co-Occurring Disorders
The web resource provides information and support to teens fighting co-occurring disorders. People with co-occurring disorders have both a mental health disorder and a substance use disorder. It is also referred to as dual diagnosis. It is required to have an integrated treatment plan that targets both illnesses at once. Mental illness can be classified as anything from minor cases of depression to severe impairments such as schizophrenia and PTSD. Substance addiction and mental illness go hand in hand. Co-morbidity, the simultaneous occurrence of two disorders or illnesses in a person, is common among people with substance abuse problems and can affect the course and prognosis of the disorders.

Bullying and Cyber Bullying

Cyber Bullying: The Complete Guide
When the line between normal, even acceptable, playful teasing crosses into bullying, problems arise.

Kids HelpPhone
Bullying. Choose to make a difference. Stand up. Step in. Reach out. Tell someone, or tell Kids Help Phone.

The Impact! How to Make a Difference When You Witness Bullying Online program is designed to help students know how to intervene when witnessing cyber bullying so you can make a positive difference.

NeedHelpNow
If you (or a friend, peer or sibling) have been involved in a self/peer exploitation incident (otherwise known as “sexting”), we are here to help. This site provides you with guidance on steps you can take to get through this.

Deal
Operated by the Youth Engagement Section of the Royal Canadian  Mounted Police. Part of the National Youth Services branch of the RCMP´s Crime Prevention Services. Facts on what bullying is, why people bully and who they target and how parents can deal with their child, whether they are being bullied or are the ones doing the bullying.

Bullying.org
Bullying.org’s purpose is to prevent bullying in our society through education and awareness. We provide educational programs and resources to individuals, families, educational institutions and organizations.

The Red Hood Project
The Red Hood Project calls for the social media industry to control and protect children’s privacy online.

Here are a few quick tips for teens:

Avoid gossip. Everyone’s bound to get a little excited by those oh-so-dramatic high school scandals, but that doesn’t mean you have to text the latest rumor to everyone you know.

Protect your space. Use privacy settings and don’t accept just anyone as a friend. Do some investigating – who are they? Why would you hang out with them?

Download this free guide from UKnowKids.com (request guide in navigation bar on right) to get the full list of…

  • How to prevent and avoid cyber bullying
  • Tips for you teen to prevent sharing too much personal information
  • Tips for identifying and dealing with online predators

Remember normal is a state that really doesn’t exist. We are all human – interesting, flawed, talented….. different. The thing to remember is when different means mentally unwell, help is available. Support from family, friends, teammates, school teachers and strangers is crucial.